Gewerbehaus (trade chamber)
A real gem on Ansgariikirchhof square.
The historical Gewerbehaus with its magnificent exterior is the seat of the chamber of skilled trades. It is used, among other things, as a venue for talks and events.
History of the Gewerbehaus
The Gewerbehaus was built in the Weser Renaissance style on the order of the cloth merchants. Building started in 1619. It was later used by the grocers' guild, particularly to host events. But state visitors also stayed there – the most famous being Tsar Peter the Great. The building was acquired by the chamber of trade in the 19th century and has borne the name 'Gewerbehaus' ever since. After being damaged in the Second World War and subsequently restored, the building was taken over by the chamber of skilled trades in Bremen in 1959. The doorway, which is flanked by statues of Justitia (justice), Minerva (wisdom) and Hercules (strength), is the only part of the original building to remain largely intact today.